0      0

IFD3 - CMS Emergency Preparedness Final Rule: Make Sure Your Health Center Is Ready

‐ Oct 27, 2017 2:00pm

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) released its long-awaited final rule establishing emergency preparedness requirements for 17 healthcare providers and suppliers participating in Medicare and Medicaid programs, which specifically includes Federally Qualified health centers. The rule establishes consistent emergency preparedness requirements across provider types. The rule went into effect on November 16, 2016, and Medicare and Medicaid participating providers and suppliers, including health centers, must comply by November 17, 2017.

The new rule is far-reaching and requires providers to conduct annual risk assessments and develop emergency plans. Providers must develop and implement policies and procedures to successfully execute their emergency plans, while addressing risks identified during their most recent assessment phase. Providers must also establish a communications plan to communicate and coordinate patient care within and outside their facilities during an emergency. Finally, providers must demonstrate ongoing training and testing of their emergency management programs, including conducting exercises.

This session, led by FTLF attorney Dianne Pledgie and Primary Care Emergency Preparedness Network (PCEPN)'s Lead Liaison Alexander Lipovtsev, will discuss the four core elements included in the new rule and the implications for health centers:

  1. Risk Assessment and Emergency Planning
  2. Communications Plan
  3. Policies and Procedures
  4. Training and Testing Program

It will also help you:

  • Articulate the four core elements of the CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule.
  • Evaluate your organization’s compliance with the four core elements of the CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule.
  • Identify internal resources and processes necessary to maintain compliance with the CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule.